GBA Announces CEO Leadership Council

In 2022, GBA launched the CEO Leadership Council, a new initiative to raise the collective voice of international companies to the highest levels of government. The biannual invitation-only event seeks to ensure that policymakers do not overlook the pressing issues faced by U.S. subsidiaries. The U.S. CEOs of GBA members possess a unique perspective and critical understanding of the challenges facing our nation. These executives will come to Washington, D.C. twice this year to meet with the highest levels of government to tell the important FDI story and discuss pressing macroeconomic issues. This year’s CEO Leadership Council consists of companies from a mix of different industries, globally headquartered in 6 countries.

The members of the 2024 CEO Leadership Council are:

  • James Daly, President, Allianz Trade in the Americas
  • Yoshiyuki Uemura, President, Daikin U.S. Corporation
  • David Greenberg, CEO and President, North America, L’Oreal
  • Jennifer Wuamett, President, NXP USA, Inc.
  • Megan Myungwon Lee, Chair and CEO, Panasonic Corporation North America
  • Karen Halby, President, Sony Corporation of America
  • Jeff Walters, President, Subaru of America
  • Kristof Terryn, Chief Executive Officer, Zurich North America
  • Christiana Riley, Regional Head of North America, Santander

Last year, the council’s meetings with Biden-Harris Administration officials and Republican congressional leaders focused on increasing global investment in America, addressing supply chain challenges, passing the CHIPS for America Act, implementing the Bipartisan Infrastructure Act, opportunities for public-private partnerships and advanced manufacturing workforce development initiatives.

To date, the CEO Leadership Council has met with:

  • Department of Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo
  • Department of Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg
  • Department of Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen
  • Department of Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm
  • United States Trade Representative Ambassador Katherine Tai
  • White House Chief of Staff Jeff Zients
  • White House Senior Advisor & Infrastructure Coordinator Mitch Landrieu
  • Chief of Staff to President Biden Ron Klain
  • Senior Advisor to the President for Clean Energy Innovation and Implementation John Podesta
  • White House Public Engagement Director Stephen Benjamin
  • Director of the National Economic Council of the United States Brian Deese
  • Director of the National Economic Council of the United States Lael Brainard
  • Senator Rev. Raphael Warnock (D-GA) 
  • Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN)
  • Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)
  • Senator Todd Young (R-IN) 
  • Senator Mark Warner (D-VA)
  • Senator John Barrasso (R-WY)
  • Congressman Adrian Smith (R-NE)